CFFA Joins LinkUS Coalition to Advise Local Mobility Improvements


The population in central Ohio is predicted to reach 3 million by the year 2050. Managing how all those people will efficiently travel to work, learn, and play will be a significant challenge. Finance Authority President Jean Carter Ryan has joined a group of Columbus leaders tasked with shaping the future of mobility, transit, and growth in central Ohio.

Jean represents CFFA on the Executive Committee of the LinkUS Leadership Coalition, a new public/private task force to identify what mobility investments will make the greatest impact in our community. Other members include Columbus Mayor Andrew Ginther, Columbus Partnership’s Alex Fischer, Joanna Pinkerton of COTA, and 12 others representing Columbus education, public safety, development, labor and clergy. 

“Establishing a coalition of diverse leaders to help guide the process is a critical next step in moving the region closer to implementing a transformational system of mobility for reimagining infrastructure in Central Ohio,” said Mayor Ginther, co-chair of the initiative. “Through this initiative, we will drive infrastructure strategy in ways that move all people forward by embracing equity as the cornerstone of our decision-making.” 

CFFA’s Ryan is equally enthused about the effort.   LinkUS is the next step to implementing the recommendations coming out of three studies undertaken over the past decade, Insight 2050, COTA’s NextGen and Insight 2050 Corridor Concepts.    Implementation will be a huge undertaking requiring a variety of resources and stakeholders. “We believe our organization may have a role to play due to our unique capabilities as an Ohio Port Authority.  We know and have worked with many members of this Coalition,” she said. “It’s a diverse group of community, business, and civic leaders. I’m excited to see the ideas that come out of it.”  

To learn more about the LinkUS Mobility Initiative, where you can share your own ideas for improving mobility in central Ohio and read about seven transportation zones of special interest.